Find an Atrium

Find an Atrium

In the early Church, the atrium was the place where catechumens prepared themselves for participation in the full church community. Such is the atrium of Catechesis of the Good Shepherd, a prepared environment where children can be in conversation with God, deepening their relationship through Scripture and Liturgy, bringing them to fuller participation in the Mass and fuller understanding of the Kingdom in salvation history.

Following is a listing of some of the atria in the SonFlower Region according to diocese (Kansas City and Wichita, Kan., and Kansas City-St. Joseph, Mo.) and city. We welcome more information about where our regional atria are and whom they serve. Contact Jo Thornley Cox at kcmojo@gmail.com.


CATHOLIC DIOCESE OF KANSAS CITY-ST. JOSEPH, MO.

GLADSTONE

St. Andrew the Apostle: ages 3-9; contact LuCinda Buckner

KANSAS CITY, MO.

St. Therese, North/Good Shepherd Atrium: 7277 N.W. Highway 9, Kansas City, MO 64152; ages 3-12; contact Jo Thornley Cox, 816-522-3002, cgs@sttheresenorth.org

St. Thomas More: 11822 Holmes Road, Kansas City, MO 64141; ages 3-6; contact Kitty Kennedy, 816-942-0246, kmkgrams@aol.com

LEE’S SUMMIT

Holy Spirit: ages 3-12; contact Shelli Lange, 816-645-5019, shelli.lange@icloud.com

Our Lady of the Presentation: ages 3-6; contact Jo Engert, 816-251-1135, jengert@olps.org


CATHOLIC ARCHDIOCESE OF KANSAS CITY, KAN.

ATCHISON

St. Benedict Parish/Holy Family Atrium: ages 3-9; contact Cathe Sienkiewicz, csienkiewicz@gmail.com

EUDORA

Sancta Maria Montessori Preschool: 1623 Elm St., Eudora, KS 66025; ages 3-12; contact Marilee Quinn, marileequinn@sbcglobal.net

Holy Family: 820 Birch, Eudora, KS 66025; ages 3-6; contact Susannah Christenson, 785-542-1027, RJC512@aol.com

KANSAS CITY, KANSAS

St. Patrick Preschool: ages 3-6, contact Cathy Wolf

Our Lady’s Montessori School: 3020 S. Seventh St., Kansas City, KS 66103; ages 3-6; contact ourladysmontessori@sbcglobal.net

LANSING

Atrium of the Good Shepherd: Ida St., Lansing, KS 66043; ages 3-6; contact Nancy Nelson, 913-727-3742, nnelson@stfrancislansing.org

LAWRENCE

Haskell Catholic Campus Center: 2401 Barker Ave, Lawrence, KS 66044; ages 3-12; contact Jean Finch, 785-843-7806, finchjean@yahoo.com

St. John the Evangelist: 1229 Vermont, Lawrence, KS 66044; ages 3-12; contact Marilee Quinn, marileequinn@sbcglobal.net

St. Lawrence Catholic Campus Center: 1631 Crescent Road, Lawrence, KS 66044; ages 3-9; contact Nancy Krische, 758-843-0357

LEAWOOD

Church of the Nativity Catholic Parish: contact Christine Robinson, robinsons4ku@yahoo.com

Curé of Ars Catholic Parish: 9403 Mission Rd, Leawood, KS 66206; ages 3-9; contact Emily Lopez, 913-642-1990, elopez@cureofars.com, or Joni Rundle, joni.rundle@cureofars.com

LENEXA

Holy Trinity Catholic Parish/Deo Gratias Atrium: 9150 Summit, Lenexa, KS 66215; ages 3-12; contact Jeanne Wichman, 913-895-0662, jwichman@htlenexa.org, or Diane Olsen, dolsen@htlenexa.org

St. Paul’s United Methodist Church: 7740 Lackman Road, Lenexa, KS 66217-9424; ages 3-6; contact Claudia Vines, 913-268-9551, claudiavines@stpaulslenexa.org

OLATHE

St. Paul Catholic Church: 900 S. Honeysuckle, Olathe, KS 66061; ages 3-9; contact Sabrina Orrison, 913-780-1125, sabrina.orrison@gmail.com

OTTAWA

Sacred Heart

OVERLAND PARK

Church of the Ascension Catholic Parish: 9510 W. 127th, Overland Park, KS 66213; 913-681-3348;
contact Karen Newkirk, knewkirk231@gmail.com

Holy Cross Catholic School: 8101 W 95th St, Overland Park, KS 66212; ages 3-12; sacramental preparation; contact Eva Gavin, 913-706-7286, gavin_eva@yahoo.com

Holy Spirit Catholic School: 11300 W. 103rd St., Overland Park, KS 66214; ages 3-9; contact Maureen Leach, mleach@hscatholic.org

Queen of the Holy Rosary: Sheryl Lickteig, sheryllickteig@qhr-opks.org

St. Michael the Archangel Catholic Church: 14201 Nall Ave., Overland Park, KS 66223; ages 3-6; contact Jean Fuller, 913-685-2253, Waltf@kc.rr.com

PRAIRIE VILLAGE

St. Ann Catholic Church: 7231 Mission Road, Prairie Village, KS 66208; ages 3-9, contact Janet Lovick, janetlovick@gmail.com

ROSSVILLE

St. Stanislaus: 701 S. Main St., P.O. Box 794, Rossville, KS 66533; 785-584-6612; ages 3-9, contact Tonia Schuckman, tonia.schuckman@gmail.com

SENECA

Sts. Peter and Paul: 401 Pioneer St., ages 3-9, contact Angie Hammes, 785-336-2128

SHAWNEE

Padre Pio Academy: 5901 Flint, Shawnee, KS 66203; ages 3-9; contact Maria Klassen, 913-268-3155, info@padrepioacademy.org

TOPEKA

Most Pure Heart of Mary: 1800 SW Stone Ave., Topeka, KS 66604; ages 3-6; contact Maria Dennison, 785-272-4727, mdennison@mphm.com

St. Matthew: 2700 SE Virginia Ave, Topeka, KS 66605; ages 3-6; contact Katrina Taggart, katrinataggart@gmail.com 

WAMEGO

St. Bernard: 1006 Eighth St., Wamego, KS 66547; ages 3-9; contact Jo LaScala, stbernardfaithformation@gmail.com


CATHOLIC DIOCESE OF WICHITA, KAN.

ANDOVER

St. Vincent de Paul: 123 N. Andover Road, Andover, KS 67002; ages 3-6; contact Margaret Seiwert, 316-733-1423

AUGUSTA

St. James/Atrium of the Good Shepherd1010 Belmont, Augusta, KS 67010; ages 3-9; contact Donna Hoefgen, 316-775-5721, stjamesdh@hotmail.com

DERBY

St. Mary Catholic Preschool: 618 N. Derby, Derby, KS 67037; ages 3-6; contact Marcia Helten, 316-788-3151, ateach93@cox.net

St. Mary School: 2306 E. Meadowlark, Derby, KS 67037; contact Marcia Helten, ateach93@cox.net, 316-722-7205

KINGMAN

St. Patrick’s Catholic School: 630 W. Ave. D, Kingman, KS 67068; ages 3-9; contact Ann Vaughn, 620-532-2599, kknoblauch@stpatskingman.org

MULVANE

St. Michael the Archangel: 525 E. Main, Mulvane, KS 67110; ages 3-6; contact Sally Hufford, 316-788-9592, mommahuff@hotmail.com

NEWTON

St. Mary Catholic School: 101 E.Ninth, Newton, KS 67114; ages 3-9; contact Leona Soyez, 316-282-1974, lsoyez@smcsnewton.org

PITTSBURG

Our Lady of Lourdes/St. Mary’s Elementary School: 301 E Ninth St., Pittsburg, KS 66762; ages 3-12; contact Sharon Compton, 620-232-2387, tcompton4@cox.net

WICHITA

Angel Atrium: Episcopal, 402 N. Topeka, Wichita, KS 67202-2513; ages 3-6; contact Jennifer Dorsett-Covington , 316-204-0892

Blessed Sacrament: 124 N. Roosevelt, Wichita, KS 67208; ages 3-6; contact Brooke Wiebe, 316-682-4557, flipper2kw10@hotmail.com

Holy Savior Catholic Academy: 1432 N. Erie, Wichita, KS 67214; ages 3-12; contact Delia Barnett, 316-684-2141, prettiedfbsbb@aol.com

St. Christopher’s Episcopal Church: 2211 S. Bluff, Wichita, KS 67218; ages 3-6; contact Rebecca Adams, 316-734-6307, rebeccahelenadams@yahoo.com

St. James Episcopal Church: 3750 E. Douglas, Wichita, KS 67208; ages 3-12; Susan Miner, 316-683-5686

St. Joseph Catholic Church and School: 520 E. Northview, McPherson, KS 67460; ages 3-6; contact Roberta Burghart, 620-241-3913, rburghart@stjosephmcpherson.com

St. Patrick School: 2027 N. Arkansas, Wichita, KS 67203; ages 3-9; contact Danelle Urban, 316-262-4071, urban.danelle@gmail.com

Leave a Reply